Brexit: How Young People See It

In the wake of Brexit being officially launched by Prime Minister Theresa May, I decided to interview the lost generation of Brexit. These are people between the ages of 18-22, who at the time, may have been too young to vote or felt overshadowed by the referendum. It’s important to remember that this age group is going to be effected more than ever, with educational costs expected to rise and less people being able to attend University because of that. The interviews were interesting, upsetting and fascinating. I asked them a series of questions I thought were relevant to this age group in particular and I was astonished by their truthful and brutally honest answers.  Participants who wish to remain anonymous shall be numbered.

What’s your opinion of Brexit as a whole?

  • Participant Number One: Brexit was something which at the beginning, I feel nobody took very seriously. It was almost like it was all talk, no walk kinda thing. Then suddenly it was everywhere and people were fearful and I wasn’t sure why. That was until the day the results were announced and I was called a racist word in the middle of the street.
  • Participant Number Two: Brexit is Shit.
  • Participant Imogen Shiels: I think Brexit was a bad idea and we will come to regret it.
  • Participant Number Three: I still don’t know how I feel about it. My family are extreme remain siders though, which is why I’m choosing to stay anonymous.
  • Participant Michael Forster: I wouldn’t say it was all that great. We lost trade deals with nearby countries, prices of everyday items will go up and the EU worked as a great way to keep peace throughout Europe.
  • Participant Number Four: I don’t really have an opinion on Brexit because I feel like it’s been portrayed so many different ways that it’s hard to know what the truth is. What I do understand is that Britain may be better in the European Union so everyone can work together.
  • Participant Chantelle Woods: I find it ridiculous how it’s actually happened. What annoys me the most is the fact David Cameron suggested it and when he realised it would be a bad decision, tried to back out when he clearly announced to the whole country that ‘leave’ would be beneficial for the economy. Then of course, the posh EDL, better known as UKIP would have to pick up and cause uproar. It’s a pity how one man of a corrupt governmental party could effectively trigger the idea of Brexit. Just get me to Scotland please.

 

 

If you were eighteen at the time of the Brexit Referendum, would you have voted remain or leave?

  • Participant Number One: I was eighteen at the time, but I didn’t vote. I didn’t know which was the right way to vote as there was hardly any information given.
  • Participant Number Two: I was eighteen at the time and voted remain.
  • Participant Imogen Shiels: I would have definitely voted remain.
  • Participant Number Three: I voted leave, but told everyone I voted remain.
  • Participant Michael Forster: I would have voted remain if I were able to vote.
  • Participant Number Four: Most likely remain as that could have potentially been the safer option as I wasn’t aware of the pros and cons of either side.
  • Participant Chantelle Woods: I would of most certainly voted remain, no hesitation. The people who could vote- which was majority older people- justified it was for the interest of the younger generation, apparently thinking of our futures. If that was the case, why couldn’t sixteen/seventeen year olds have a say. It’s not necessarily their future to decide.

 

What do you think Brexit will effect the most for you?

  • Participant Number One: I think it will effect the way people see others. I was born British, but my skin will tell you different. I see elder people look at me like I’m trespassing on their land.
  • Participant Number Two: Brexit will mean limited opportunities for students, and more expense to travel abroad for their studies which all students usually need/desire. We joined the European Union in 1941 I believe, and were great. But due to many old fashioned Brits being influenced by the thought of people from different countries joining us, it created a lot of racism and lack of diversity within the UK. I think due to us leaving the racism will just get worse, and people won’t learn the importance of us coming together as a human race.
  • Participant Imogen Shiels: I think definitely the biggest thing will be the costs of things.
  • Participant Number Three: I feel like Brexit will allow us to have tougher immigration laws. I’m not racist or anything, but I pass enough homeless people on my way to work to understand that it’s time that Britain starts putting the British first, not some immigrants. There are plenty of countries to choose from, why come to ours?
  • Participant Michael Forster: I think prices of every day items increasing will effect me the most as it will have a direct effect on my financial situation once I leave home.
  • Participant Number Four: Right now I think it might affect tutorial fees as it will be triggered in two years and at that point I will only be halfway through my degree so it might change the price of these and potentially the way that they are paid back. In the longer run I think it will make everything more expensive like foods from other countries and things like that.
  • Participant Chantelle Woods: Brexit will definitely effect my opportunities to travel around Europe quickly as well as the cost of living. We’re already in a society where the rich get richer and the poor get poorer. If by some chance Labour come into governmental power, it may be a different situation but at this moment in time, money and travelling are effected.

 

Do you worry about your future Post-Brexit?

  • Participant Number One: I worry more about people being racist following Brexit than the actual thing itself. For some reason it bought to light a lot of discrimination and that’s what I worry for.
  • Participant Number Two: 100%.
  • Participant Imogen Shiels: I really do worry about the future as it seems so uncertain.
  • Participant Number Three: Whatever happens, happens. If you work hard enough you can always get to where you want to be, whatever the cost, whatever the outcome.
  • Participant Michael Forster: I don’t really worry about it. It’s coming and there’s nothing we can do to prevent it as there’s no point getting worked up over it. The far right have won and the rest of us have got to suck it up.
  • Participant Number Four: Right now I’m not sure what Brexit means so I can’t say how it would affect my future.
  • Participant Chantelle Woods: At the moment, I’m very worried about my future. I don’t know how it’s going to pan out due to Brexit, especially with attending University and then getting into a job. The cost of living will increase and who knows what financial circumstances I’ll be in.

 

During the referendum, did you feel you knew about the pros and cons about remaining and leaving?

Participant Number One: The only Pro I knew about leaving was the fact David Cameron would resign.

Participant Number Two: I think the pros of leaving were highlighted more than the pros of remaining.

Participant Imogen Shiels: I feel like I was told the pros and cons but were bias and sometimes lies so I feel I wasn’t told the truth.

Participant Number Three: There was definitely nothing direct said about either, but I just feel like the remain siders were scared and the leave voters were taking back control.

Participant Michael Forster: I feel no one really knew the pros and cons of leaving and remaining. Campaigns of both sides both stated we’d be better off financially if we did as they said. The entire thing was just a ‘clusterfuck’ of lies with the confused population stuck in the middle.

Participant Number Four: I didn’t know either, most of the referendum talks and debaes were full of politicians taking digs at each other without addressing what they were there for.

Participant Chantelle Woods: I feel like I knew more cons than pros, but as it circulated more in the media and the propaganda from both Labour and UKIP, my understanding of both the pros and cons built up.

Others have suggested that Brexit isn’t the issue and that it’s Britain’s government. Others have also suggested that elder people have a better idea as they lived in a time where we were both out of the European Union and outside of it. Either way, I think this sheds some light and offers some democracy to the younger generation.

Leave a Reply

