My Relaxation Ritual 

As a lot of you know, I like to post about mental health a huge amount. It’s great that young people such as myself are so keen to spread awareness and talk about their experiences. However, today I wanted to talk about things which relax me and chill me out so I can block any anxious or panicky feelings from the day. 

Eat a Nice Meal 

Something I really like to do to feel more positive is to cook and make myself a nice meal. It’s something you have to do any way, but just have whatever you’re craving to comfort yourself (a little bit of what you fancy does you good). I like to make quorn chicken burgers and lots of vegetables and chill out infront of YouTube and watch makeup tutorials. That’s usually how I spend most of my evenings after an intense or busy day. If I’m not anxious or haven’t been busy, I’ll eat with my family or go out with friends. Also often when we’re anxious we forget to eat, so by making a meal feel like a treat, you’re getting yourself into a routine of eating properly which is really healthy for you mentally. 

Take a Lovely Bath 

After I’ve ate, what I like to do is take a bath. At the moment I’m using LUSH bubble bar in ‘Big Bang’ which smells incredible and leaves the most amazing blue bubbles. To relax yourself, add some lavender oil in there and just chill out. After you’re out the bath and feeling fresh, moisturise with ‘Johnson’s Baby Bedtime Oil’. It has the aroma of Lavender and Moonflower so is completely relaxing and calming for your senses. 


Read A Book 

Often if I need to switch off, I’ll get into my pyjamas and dressing gown and just read a book. If it’s something I have already read already, I find it extra comforting. A few of my favourite books are ‘The Alchemist’ by Peter James, ‘My Sister’s Keeper’ by Jodi Picoult and ‘A Game of Thrones’ by George R.R Martin. At the minute I’m reading ‘The Lovely Bones’ which I have read many times before, but it’s so comforting to me. 


Drink Tea- Proper Tea 

Have a cup of tea. But when I say tea, I mean proper benefitting Tea, not English breakfast tea laden with sugar and milk. Herbal Teas are much better for you and are actually really calming without the dairy clogging you up. Having a warm mug of tea in your hands is psychologically the same as a hug and it feels amazing to just sit there in peace with a cup of strong tea. My favourite teas are Peppermint, Chamomile and Green Tea with Jasmine. M&S have an amazing herbal tea collection and some are just 99p each and come in pretty little boxes and are incredible quality! 

Plan The Next Day 

I plan my next day when chilling out so my anxious mind is prepared and ready with routine. Even if it’s making a meal plan or ironing my work uniform and getting it ready. Choosing the shower gel which I’ll wash with- making any kind of decision will help benefit my attitude the next morning. 

An Early Night 

An early night does everyone the world of good- for me that’s usually the case on these nights. Having fresh bedding and a soft pillow to cuddle up to is also really beneficial for a deep sleep. 
So that’s my relaxation ritual and I hope it offers some inspiration to you guys. Let me know what yours is and be sure to drop me some tips if you have any. 

Leave a Reply

