My Springtime Skincare Routine 

After my beauty tips post I had some  requests to do a skincare and shower post, I decided to do the two separate as both are different things and this is skincare I would use after a shower and after I had washed my face. 

Your skincare should go in four stages: 

  1. Makeup Removal/Gentle Cleanse 
  2. Toning and Deeper Cleansing 
  3. Antiseptic/Essential Oil/Spot Treatment 
  4. Moisturising 

So the first thing I do is make sure my face is clean for deeper cleansing. Do not use cleansing wipes, they are so bad for your face and cause acne, even if you get the sensitive skin ones. The product I’m using at the minute for this is the Garnier SkinActive Soothing Botanical Cleansing Milk with Rose Water. This is part of a new range and retails at around £3.30, but I got mine on offer at Superdrug. 


I chose this just as a gentle cleanser and to remove any remaining makeup. I just pop a little bit on a cotton pad and use the product lightly. It smells really floral and is gentle on skin, my skin is definitely more fresh after using this. The downside is, Garnier isn’t one of my favourite brands. I’ve had a lot of bad experiences with the brand in the past so I’m still a bit cautious about using this product. I’d rate it a 6/10 but will switch back to Nivea after I finish this bottle. 


Next I use this Hema ‘It’s my Beautiful Skin Day’ Hydrating Cleansing Tonic for a deeper cleanse. I’ve nearly finished this bottle so I’ll have to re purchase soon, but Hema is such an incredible company when it comes to skincare, homeware, snacks- you name it. It’s like a girly Ikea, everything is cheap and amazing! This makes my skin feel really refreshed and clean, but also has reduced my spots by 50%. This one is for dry/sensitive skin but I have combination skin and it works really well for me! This is by far my favourite toner, I will re purchase this time and time again. 


After my skin has been left alone for about five minutes, I add on a small dollop of Witch Doctor: Skin Soothing Gel. It’s an antibacterial for irritated skin and I only use this when I’m desperate as it’s strong. Any other day I’d use Tea Tree Oil. This also closes the pores so is perfect for pre-moisturising. What I like about this is it lasts a super long time, so won’t have to keep re purchasing! 


And finally, I use this Superdrug Naturally Radiant 2 in 1 Moisturiser and Serum. This actually smells like the inside of a LYNX can and probably what your ex boyfriend’s armpit smells like, BUT on the plus side, it is an incredible moisturiser and serum. My skin is always bright, glowy and feels soft after I use this. After having been settled for a few minutes, my skin is like silk. Also Superdrug’s own collections are all animal friendly and cruelty free so an amazing option! 

So that is my skincare routine and I hope that helps. To clarify, my skin type is combination but day dependant can either get really dry or really oily. I also have Italian heritage so my skin is very shiny and blemishy sometimes! 

I hope you all have a fab day! 

2 thoughts on “My Springtime Skincare Routine 

Leave a Reply

